Committees & Topics

At GerMUN 2021, we will yet again be simulating a total of three committees. As tradition dictates, two of them will be the General Assembly and the Security Council. This year’s third committee will be the Human Rights Council. The respective topics to be discussed in each of these three bodies as well as the Member States present in these bodies can be found below. The background guides as well as the rules of procedure are available on the Resources page.

Please be reminded that the topics, as well as the background guides and country assignments below relate to GerMUN 2020. The information will be updated soon for GerMUN 2021.


Security Council
1. Youth, Peace, and Security
2. Threats to International Peace and Security Caused by Terrorist Acts
3. The Situation in Myanmar

General Assembly
1. Nuclear Disarmament and International Security
2. Ensuring Access to Affordable, Reliable, Sustainable, and Modern Energy for All
3. Combating Human Trafficking

Human Rights Council
1. Equitable Access to Safe Drinking Water as a Human Right
2. Human Rights of Unaccompanied Migrant Children and Adolescents
3. The Human Rights Situation in the Occupied Palestinian Territory

Member States

We will be simulating these committees with the following lists of Member States (based on the NMUN-NY 2020 conference):

Security Council (all countries are already assigned)

  • Belgium, China, Dominican Republic, Estonia, France,
  • Germany, Indonesia, Niger, Russian Federation, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines,
  • South Africa, Tunisia, United Kingdom, United States of America, Viet Nam

Human Rights Council (the highlighted countries are still available)

  • Afghanistan, Angola, Argentina, Australia, Austria,
  • Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Brazil, Bulgaria,
  • Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chile, China, Croatia,
  • Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Egypt,
  • Eritrea, Fiji, Hungary, Iceland, India,
  • Iraq, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Nepal,
  • Nigeria, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Qatar,
  • Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Slovakia, Somalia,
  • South Africa, Spain, Togo, Tunisia, Ukraine,
  • United Kingdom, Uruguay